Powerful Words

“To believe in a child is to believe in the future.” Henry James

Words today have a powerful influence on tomorrow

Believe you can and you’re halfway there.” Theodore Roosevelt

As adults, we have the opportunity to influence children in many ways. We help them learn to walk, to talk, to read and write. We teach them how to tie their shoes and dress themselves. Mostly, when we think of “helping” a child, we think of physical actions and deeds.

But, sometimes it is the positive attitude and encouragement we give to young children that affects them the most. Supporting a young child’s self-esteem can greatly affect his or her life for years to come.

Lisa Nunn, Childcare Resources’s Technical Assistance Leader, was reminded of the power of positive words this past summer:

“Last July, I did an on-site training  (Training To Go)  at a child care center in Jefferson county.   As I was packing  to leave after completing the training, a teacher who attended the training came up to me and told me that I was her 5th grade teacher 15 years ago.   As soon as she said those words, I remembered exactly who she was.  15 years ago we formed a connection that stayed with both of us.  I stayed and talked with her for a while and caught up with all that she has accomplished since she was in my class.  

Courtney finished her Bachelor’s Degree at the University of Montevallo, and is currently a lead teacher with Odyssey Early Schools.  Courtney told me that she kept a letter that I gave to her when she was in my 5th grade class and she held onto it and read it for inspiration over the years.   I do remember writing Courtney a letter telling her that I believed in her and that she could do anything she set her mind to do.  I told her that I still believe in her and that I was so proud of all that she has accomplished.   Courtney is planning to further her education and I am planning to offer her career assistance through Childcare Resources to help her continue to reach her goals.”

Want to make a difference in the life of a child? Encourage him. You may never know just how much it helps!

 Looking for more inspiration? Watch the Make a Difference Movie.

Leave a Reply

